BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

)

)

)

)

FOR THE PURPOSE OF CONFIRMING NEW MEMBER APPOINTMENTS AND CURRENT MEMBER REAPPOINTMENTS TO THE GREENSPACES POLICY ADVISORY COMMITTEE RESOLUTION NO. 06-3683

Introduced by David Bragdon, Metro Council President

WHEREAS, on January 15, 2004 the Metro Council adopted Ordinance No. 04-1030 "For the Purpose of Amending Section 2.19.160 of the Metro Code to Establish a Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee, and Declaring an Emergency"; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 04-1030 created a new Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee (GPAC), consisting of fifteen (15) members requiring appointment by the Metro Council President and subject to confirmation by the Metro Council; and

WHEREAS, five (5) vacancies now exist in the committee membership of the GPAC; and

WHEREAS, Council President has appointed Mike Livingston, Tim Raphael, Linda Robinson, Mike Sykes and Dan Zinzer to the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee for two-year terms (as set forth in Exhibit "A" attached hereto), subject to Council confirmation; and

WHEREAS, Council President wishes to extend the terms of ten (10) committee members who have completed their terms (as set forth in Exhibit "A" attached hereto), subject to Council confirmation; now therefore;

BE IT RESOLVED, the Metro Council hereby confirms:

- 1) The appointments of Mike Livingston, Tim Raphael, Linda Robinson, Mike Sykes and Dan Zinzer for two-year terms.
- 2) The reappointment of Zari Santner and Dick Schouten to two-year terms.
- 3) The reappointment of Ernie Drapela, John Griffiths, Scott Burgess, Kim Gilmer, Mike Houck, Sue Marshall, Faun Hosey and Mike Ragsdale to one-year terms.

ADOPTED by the Metro Council on this 3rd day of March, 2006. David Brandof Council President Metro Cooneil Approved as to Form: COUNCIL Daniel B. Cooper, Metre Attorney

Page 1 Resolution No. 06-3683 M:\attorney\confidential\R-O\Resolution 06-3683.02.doc RPG/OMA/JEM/sm 3/13/06

Exhibit "A"

Resolution No. 06-3683 Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee Appointees

The Metro Council hereby confirms the appointment by the Metro Council President of the following five (5) nominees to the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee:

Dan Zinzer to Position B.2 - (Two year term) - Park providers East of the Willamette River

Mike Sykes to Position G.7 - (Two year term) - Park providers in the Western-most part of the region

Tim Raphael to Position I.9 - (Two year term) - Non-profit land trust organizations

Mike Livingston to Position K.ll - (Two year term) - Citizen representative

Linda Robinson to Position M.13 - (Two year term) - Citizen representative

The terms of the above committee members will expire in January 2008.

The Metro Council hereby confirms the reappointment by the Metro Council President of ten (10) current members of the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee as follows:

Zari Santner and Dick Schouten will be reappointed for a term of two years, ending in January 2008.

Ernie Drapela, John Griffiths, Scott Burgess, Kim Gilmer, Mike Houck, Sue Marshall, Faun Hosey and Mike Ragsdale will be reappointed for one-year terms, ending in January 2007.

STAFF REPORT

IN CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION NO. 06-3683 FOR THE PURPOSE OF CONFIRMING NEW MEMBER APPOINTMENTS AND CURRENT MEMBER REAPPOINTMENTS TO THE GREENSPACES POLICY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

March 10, 2006

Prepared by: Jim Desmond and Patricia Sullivan

BACKGROUND

The Metro Council continues to commit itself to the vision of the Greenspaces Master Plan of a cooperative, interconnected system of parks, natural areas, trails and greenways for wildlife and people. On January 15, 2004, in order to better serve the public and to work more effectively and efficiently with our partners, the Metro Council adopted Ordinance No. 04-1030 ("For the Purpose of Amending Section 2.19.160 of the Metro Code to Establish a Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee (GPAC), and Declaring an Emergency"). Such ordinance calls for the appointment of a 15-member policy advisory committee to provide consultation and advice to the Metro Council on various issues of a regional nature related to parks, greenspaces, trails and natural areas.

There are currently five (5) vacancies on the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee: The Council President has appointed the following persons to two-year terms, subject to confirmation by Metro Council:

Dan Zinzer, chosen from park providers east of the Willamette River.

Mike Sykes, chosen from park providers in the western-most part of the region.

Tim Raphael, chosen from non-profit land trust organizations.

Mike Livingston, chosen from among citizens at large.

Linda Robinson, chosen from among citizens at large.

There are ten (10) GPAC members whose terms have expired. The Council President has extended their terms as follows: Zari Santner and Dick Schouten with two-year extensions and Ernie Drapela, John Griffiths, Scott Burgess, Kim Gilmer, Mike Houck, Sue Marshall, Faun Hosey and Mike Ragsdale with one-year extensions.

In addition, the Council President has extended Mike Ragsdale's term in the position of GPAC chair, for one (1) year.

ANALYSIS/INFORMATION

1. Known Opposition: None

2. Legal Antecedents: GPAC was created by Ordinance No. 04-1030 ("For the Purpose of Amending Section 2.19.160 of the Metro Code to Establish a Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee, and

Page 1 Staff Report to Resolution No. 06-3683 M:\attorney\confidential\R-O\Staff Report 06-3683.02.doc RPG/OMA/JEM/ sm 3/13/06 Declaring an Emergency), on January 15, 2004. The Metro Code 2.19.160 establishes that committee appointments shall be made by the Council Present and confirmed by the Metro Council.

3. Anticipated Effects: None

4. Budget Impacts: None

RECOMMENDED ACTION

Council President David Bragdon recommends adoption of Resolution No. 06-3683 appointing new members: Dan Zinzer, Mike Sykes, Tim Raphael, Mike Livingston and Linda Robinson to the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee; and reappointing the terms of current committee members: Zari Santner, Dick Schouten, Ernie Drapela, John Griffiths, Scott Burgess, Kim Gilmer Mike Houck, Sue Marshall, Faun Hosey and Mike Ragsdale.