BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

FOR THE PURPOSE OF RECOGNIZING THE ACHIEVEMENTS OF METRO COUNCILORS JON KVISTAD AND ED WASHINGTON	 RESOLUTION NO. 00-3000 Introduced by David Bragdon, Presiding Officer; and Councilors Bill Atherton, Susan McLain, Rod Monroe, and Rod Park
WHEREAS, Mr. Jon Kvistad has worked to bring prosperity to our region since joining the Metro Council in 1993, and	
WHEREAS, Mr. Ed Washington has worked to sustain the livability of our region since joining the Metro Council in 1992, and	
WHEREAS, both gentlemen have furthered the mission and work of the Metro Council through their leadership, and	
WHEREAS, both gentlemen have championed the protection of our openspaces and parks for future generations with the passage of the 1995 bond measure and the purchase of more than 6,300 acres of land to be held in trust for the people in perpetuity, and	
WHEREAS, both gentlemen have helped to craft and implement a unique and effective land-use tool, the 2040 Growth Concept, that will preserve both the vibrant urban neighborhoods and the rural nature of our region for decades into the future, and	
WHEREAS, both gentlemen have encouraged the development and financial support of a balanced transportation system that works for all citizens, and	
WHEREAS, both gentlemen have supported the ability of the Oregon Zoo, the Oregon Convention Center and the Expo Center to constantly re-invent and re-develop themselves as world-class facilities that are capable of serving the needs of our citizens as well as being capable of great success in a competitive business environment, and	
WHEREAS, both gentlemen have supported a system of environmental management that is both ecologically sustainable and cost-effective for the region's ratepayers, and	
WHEREAS, both gentlemen have fought for all voices to be heard and respected in our government,	
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Metro Council hereby recognizes and honors their many devoted many years of service.	
ADOPTED by the Metro Council this 14th day of December, 2000.	
	David Bragdon, Presiding Officer
APROVED AS TO FORM:	Bavid Bragdon, Presiding Officer
Daniel B. Cooper, General Gunsel	WETRO CO