BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

FOR THE PURPOSE OF REORGANIZING THE)	RESOLUTION NO. 03-3263
METRO COUNCIL IN 2003)	
)	Introduced by Council President
)	David Bragdon

WHEREAS, effective January 6, 2003, the Metro Charter as amended by the voters in November 2000 directs the Council to adopt an organizing resolution naming a deputy and establishing such committees as the Council deems necessary for the orderly conduct of Council business; and

WHEREAS, the Metro Charter as amended provides that the Council President appoints all members of committees, commissions and boards; and

WHEREAS, the Council President has nominated Councilor Rod Park to serve as the deputy and has made appointments to committees and boards as specified in Exhibit A; and

WHEREAS, the Metro Council accepted the recommendation made by the Transition Task Force, chaired by Jeff Condit; and

WHEREAS, the Transition Task Force strongly urged the Metro Council to eliminate the Council standing committee structure and meet as a Council of the whole in order to avoid delay and expense; and

WHEREAS, from time to time, certain projects or issues may arise that would benefit from the focused attention of a Council subcommittee; the Council President shall appoint a Council task force with specific goals and a sunset date; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Metro Council elects Councilor Rod Park to be the Deputy for 2003.
- 2. Standing committees to the Metro Council are abolished.
- 3. The Council confirms the appointments made by the Council President as specified in Exhibit A.

ADOPTED by the Metro

day of January, 2003.

David Bragdon, Council President

Approved as to Form:

Daniel B. Cooper, Metro Agrorney

EXHIBIT "A"

CHARTER MANDATED COMMITTEES AND APPOINTMENTS

Deputy President: Councilor Park

Joint Policy Advisory Committee on Transportation: Councilor Park, Chair; Councilor Burkholder, Vice Chair, Councilor Hosticka.

COUNCILOR ANCILLARY APPOINTMENTS

Council Parliamentarian: Councilor Monroe

Friends of the Oregon Zoo Board of Directors: Councilor Monroe, Councilor McLain

<u>Metro Policy Advisory Committee:</u> Council President Bragdon; Councilor Park; Councilor Newman (non-voting delegates).

Regional Parks and Greenspaces Advisory Committee: Councilor McLain

Metro Committee on Citizen Involvement Liaison: Councilor Newman

Regional Emergency Management Group: Councilor Monroe, Councilor Hosticka (alternate)

Regional Water Services Leadership Group: Councilor McLain, Councilor Hosticka

Smith and Bybee Lakes Management Committee: Councilor Burkholder

Regional Environmental Management Policy Advisory Committee (SWAC): Councilor McLain, Chair; Councilor Park (alternate)

Regional Environmental Management Rate Review Committee: Councilor McLain, Chair, Councilor Park (Alternate)

Oregon Regional Council Association Board of Directors: Councilor Monroe, Councilor Hosticka (alternate)

<u>SW Washington Regional Transportation Policy Committee:</u> Councilor Burkholder, Councilor Monroe

Tri-Met Committee on Accessible Transportation: Councilor Burkholder, Councilor Monroe

Regional Water Consortium: Councilor McLain, Councilor Hosticka (alternate)

Water Resources Policy Advisory Committee: Councilor Hosticka, Chair; Councilor McLain (alternate)

Washington County Transportation Advisory Group: Councilor Hosticka

Cascadia Task Force: Councilor Monroe, Councilor Burkholder

1% for Art: Councilor McLain

Portland/Multnomah County Progress Board: Council President Bragdon

Portland State Institute of Urban Studies: Council President Bragdon, Councilor Hosticka

Columbia Slough Watershed Council: Councilor Burkholder

Metro Central Enhancement Committee: Councilor Burkholder

Metro North Portland Enhancement Committee: Councilor Burkholder

<u>JPACT Bi-State Transportation Committee:</u> Councilor Burkholder, Councilor Monroe (alternate), Council President Bragdon (alternate)

South Corridor Transportation Study: Councilor Newman, Councilor Monroe (alternate)

Governor's Willamette Valley Livability Forum: Councilor Hosticka; Councilor Park (Alternate)

Visitor Development Board: Council President Bragdon, Councilor Park