BEFORE THE COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN SERVICE DISTRICT

FOR	THE	PURPOSE	OF	APPOINTING	3)	RESOLUTION	NO.	85-597
CITI	IZEN	MEMBERS	TO	THE SOLID	WASTE)			
POL]	ICY .	ADVISORY	CON	MMITTEE)	Introduced	by t	che
)	Presiding (Offic	cer

WHEREAS, The Solid Waste Policy Advisory Committee (SWPAC)
By-Laws were amended on June 27, 1985, to increase the number of
citizen members on the Committee from four to eight, and require
that two of the members appointed to represent the public shall also
be appointed to serve on the Rate Review Committee; and

WHEREAS, The terms of four citizen members have expired; and WHEREAS, members of the public were actively recruited to fill the positions to serve two-year terms on SWPAC; now, therefore, BE IT RESOLVED,

- That Robert Harris and Shirley Coffin are reappointed to serve two-year terms as citizen members on SWPAC; and
- 2. That Ed Gronke, George Hubel, Carolyn Browne, Bruce Rawls, Teresa DeLorenzo and Michael Pronold are appointed to serve two-year terms as citizen members on SWPAC.

ADOPTED by the Council of the Metropolitan Service District this 26th day of Sept. , 1985.

Richard Waker

Deputy Presiding Officer

RW/RB/gl 4302C/405-2 09/17/85 STAFF REPORT

Agenda Item No. 7.3

Meeting Date Sept. 26, 1985

CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION NO. 85-597 FOR THE PURPOSE OF APPOINTING CITIZEN MEMBERS TO THE SOLID WASTE POLICY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Date: September 17, 1985 Presented by: Ray Barker

FACTUAL BACKGROUND AND ANALYSIS

The By-Laws of the Solid Waste Policy Advisory Committee (SWPAC) were amended on June 27, 1985, to increase the number of "citizen" members on the Committee from four to eight (two from each county in the region and two from the City of Portland).

The terms of four citizen members have expired. Two citizen members would like to be considered for reappointment.

Staff has actively recruited to fill the eight available positions on the SWPAC. Twenty-four individuals would like to be considered for appointment.

The Presiding Officer has recommended the following appointments and reappointments to SWPAC:

	Name	To Represent			
1.	Ed Gronke*	Clackamas County			
2.	Robert Harris**	Clackamas County			
3.	George Hubel*	Multnomah County			
4.	Carolyn Browne	Multnomah County			
	Shirley Coffin**	Washington County			
6.	Bruce Rawls	Washington County			
7.	Teresa DeLorenzo	City of Portland			
8.	Michael Pronold	City of Portland			

^{*}Will also continue to serve on Rate Review Committee. **Reappointment.

Note: The new SWPAC Bi-Laws require that "two of the members appointed to represent the public shall also be appointed to serve on the Rate Review Committee."

EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S RECOMMENDATION

The Executive Officer recommends adoption of Resolution No. 85-597.

Metro Council September 26, 1985 Page 5

Vote: A vote on the motion resulted in:

Ayes: Councilors Cooper, DeJardin, Gardner, Kirkpatrick,

Kelley, Myers, Oleson, Van Bergen and Waker

Absent: Councilors Hansen, Kafoury and Bonner

The motion carried and Resolution No. 85-596 was adopted.

7.3 Consideration of Resolution No. 85-597, for the Purpose of Appointing Citizen Members to the Solid Waste Policy Advisory Committee (SWPAC)

Motion: Councilor DeJardin moved to adopt Resolution

No. 85-597 and Councilor Kirkpatrick seconded the

motion.

Ray Barker reported the Council previously adopted a Resolution which amended the SWPAC Bylaws and created more citizen participation on the Committee. Adoption of Resolution No. 85-597 would appoint some of the new members to the Committee.

Councilor Kirkpatrick was concerned that all terms of the members appointed by adoption of Resolution No. 85-597 would expire at the same time.

Motion: Councilor Kirkpatrick moved to amend the Resolution to allow three-year terms for every other name listed in the staff report. Councilor Cooper seconded the

motion.

It was pointed out that those serving three-year terms should be notified in advance of that action. Ms. Baxendale proposed Counsel review the Bylaws and, if necessary, prepare an amendment to the Bylaws for later Council adoption to provide for staggered terms of newly appointed members. Councilor Kirkpatrick withdrew her motion.

Vote: A vote on the motion to adopt the Resolution resulted

in:

Ayes: Councilors Cooper, DeJardin, Gardner, Hansen,

Kirkpatrick, Kelley, Myers, Oleson, Van Bergen and

Waker

Absent: Councilors Kafoury and Bonner

The motion carried and Resolution No. 85-597 was adopted.