BEFORE THE COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN SERVICE DISTRICT

FOR THE PURPOSE OF REAPPOINTING CITIZEN MEMBERS TO THE)	RESOLUTION NO. 87-728
METROPOLITAN SERVICE DISTRICT)	Introduced by
SOLID WASTE RATE REVIEW COMMITTEE)	Councilor Waker

WHEREAS, The Metropolitan Service District, Code Section 5.01.170, provides that Council appoints the members of the Solid Waste Rate Review Committee; and

WHEREAS, The purpose of the Committee is to gather information and provide recommendations for the establishment of rates; and

WHEREAS, The terms of two members of the Committee expired on December 31, 1986; and

WHEREAS, Section 5.01.170 requires that membership will include one Certified Public Accountant, and one Local Government Administrator; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED,

That Jonathan Block be reappointed as the Local Government Administrator member, and N. Charles O'Connor as the Certified Public Accountant member of the Solid Waste Rate Review Committee. Both reappointments are for two-year terms to run from January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1988.

ADOPTED by the Council of the Metropolitan Service District this <u>8th</u> day of <u>January</u>, 1987.

Richard Waker, Presiding Officer

RB/g1/6720C/491-2 12/30/86

STAFF REPORT

Agenda Item No. 8.3

Meeting Date Jan. 8, 1987

CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION NO. 87-728 FOR THE PURPOSE OF REAPPOINTING CITIZEN MEMBERS TO THE METROPOLITAN SERVICE DISTRICT SOLID WASTE RATE REVIEW COMMITTEE

Date: December 19, 1986

Presented by: Ray Barker

FACTUAL BACKGROUND AND ANALYSIS

The Metro Code Section 5.01.170 provides for the appointment of members to the Solid Waste Rate Review Committee by the Metro Council. The five-member committee is composed of:

- 1. One Certified Public Accountant with experience in cost accounting and program auditing.
- 2. One Certified Public Accountant with experience in the solid waste industry or public utility regulation.
- 3. One local government administrator with experience in governmental financing, agency budgeting and/or rate regulation.
- 4. Two members of the public.

The terms of two members of the Committee, N. Charles O'Connor, the Certified Public Accountant member, and Jonathan Block, the local Government Administrator member expire December 31, 1986. Both individuals would like to be reappointed to the Committee.

Adoption of Resolution No. 87-728 would reappoint N. Charles O'Connor and Jonathan Block to the Solid Waste Rate Review Committee for two-year terms to run from January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1988.

RB/gl 6720C/491-2 12/30/86 Metro Council January 8, 1987 Page 14

Councilor Kirkpatrick asked the Legislative Planning Committee to work with county election officials in order to have a March Zoo levy election conducted in one mode. She said current plans called for Washington and Clackamas Counties conducting the election by mail and Multnomah County by regular ballot. She explained that situation would require two different campaigns.

Councilor Ragsdale said although he would support the transportation legislative package, he was concerned that the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) had consistently underfunded the Metro region.

Motion: Councilor DeJardin moved, seconded by Councilor Hansen, to adopt Resolution No. 87-702 with the exclusion of the legislative program entitled "Administration."

Vote: A vote on the motion resulted in all eleven Councilors present voting aye. Presiding Officer Waker was absent.

The motion carried and Resolution No. 87-702 was adopted as amended.

8.3 Consideration of Resolution No. 87-728, for the Purpose of Reappointing Citizen Members to the Solid Waste Rate Review Committee

Ray Barker, Council Assistant, presented staff's report.

Motion: Councilor Kirkpatrick moved to adopt the Resolution and Councilor Van Bergen seconded the motion.

<u>Vote</u>: A vote on the motion resulted in all eleven Councilors present voting aye. Presiding Officer Waker was absent.

The motion carried and Resolution No. 87-728 was adopted.

8.4 Consideration of Resolution No. 87-729, for the Purpose of Revising the FY 1986-87 Budget and Appropriations, and Authorizing Advance Payments to the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) for Landfill Siting (Public Hearing)

Doug Drennen, Solid Waste Engineering and Analysis Manager, introduced Steve Greenwood and Lydia Taylor of the DEQ. Mr. Drennen briefly reviewed staff's report as printed in the agenda materials.

Deputy Presiding Officer Gardner opened the public hearing on the Resolution.