BEFORE THE COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN SERVICE DISTRICT

)

FOR THE PURPOSE OF CONFIRMING THE RE-APPOINTMENT OF PERSONS TO THE ONE PERCENT FOR RECYCLING ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND APPOINTING ONE NEW MEMBER TO FILL A VACANCY

11 11

RESOLUTION NO. 89-1168 INTRODUCED BY RENA CUSMA.

EXECUTIVE OFFICER

WHEREAS, The Council of the Metropolitan Service District adopted Ordinance No. 88-250B on July 14, 1988, creating the Recycling Advisory Committee for the One Percent for Recycling Program; and

WHEREAS, The Executive Officer has authority to appoint members to the Committee for Council confirmation; and

WHEREAS, Membership provides for geographic, industry and citizen representation, the Executive Officer recommends the following members for re-appointment to the Committee: Bruce Lewis and Margaret Templeton, Multnomah County; Forrest Soth and Beverly Seibel, Washington County; and Carolyn Tomei, Clackamas County; and,

WHEREAS, The resignation of a citizen member residing in Clackamas County resigned creating a vacancy on the Committee; and

WHEREAS, The Executive Officer has appointed Karen Griffin of Clackamas County to fill said vacancy; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED,

 That the Council of the Metropolitan Service District hereby confirm the re-appointment of the following persons to the <u>Recycling Advisory</u> <u>Committee</u>: Bruce Lewis, Multnomah County; Margaret Templeton, Multnomah County; Forest Soth, Washington County; Beverly Seibel, Washington County; Carolyn Tomei, Clackamas County; and the appointment of Karen Griffin, Clackamas County.

2. That the Committee membership and term of service shall be for a period of one year and that members may be appointed to a subsequent term.

ADOPTED by the Council of the Metropolitan Service District this <u>9th</u> day of <u>November</u>, 1989 <u>Nulle</u> **Candel**

Mike Ragsdale, Presiding Officer

kd

SOLID WASTE COMMITTEE REPORT

RESOLUTION NO. 89-1168, FOR THE PURPOSE OF CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF PERSONS TO THE ONE PERCENT FOR RECYCLING ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND APPOINTING ONE NEW MEMBER TO FILL A VACANCY

Date: November 1, 1989

Presented by: Councilor Gary Hansen

<u>Committee Recommendation</u>: The Solid Waste Committee voted 4 to 0 to recommend Council adoption of Resolution No. 89-1168. Voting: Councilors Hansen, Buchanan, DeJardin and Wyers. Absent: Ragsdale. This action taken October 31, 1989.

<u>Committee Discussion/Issues</u>: Adoption of Resolution No. 89-1168 would reappoint the following five individuals to the One Percent for Recycling Advisory Committee for a second one year term: Bruce Lewis, Margaret Templeton, Forrest Soth, Beverly Seibel and Carolyn Tomei. The resolution would appoint Karen Griffin to serve a one year term. She would replace Cathy Cancilla who resigned to apply for a grant under the program.

It was noted that the One Percent for Recycling Advisory Committee has made its first round of recommendations for awards to the Council and will begin the second round of reviewing applications within the next several weeks.

There were no issues raised by the Solid Waste Committee and the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Council adoption of Resolution No. 89-1168.

GH:RB:pa A:\RB.119

METRO



2000 S.W. First Avenue Portland, OR 97201-5398 503/221-1646

Memorandum

Date:	October 25, 1989
то:	Mike Ragsdale, Presiding Officer
From:	Rena Cusma, Executive Officer
Regarding:	Appointments to the One Percent for Recycling Advisory Committee

Resolution No. 88-900A adopted by Council October 13, 1988 established the 1% for Recycling Advisory Committee and confirmed the six citizen members appointed by the Executive Officer.

The membership provided geographic, industry and citizen representation. Initially, names were solicited from the mayors of cities within the District.

The Resolution specifies that the term of service shall be for a period of one year and that members may be appointed to a subsequent term.

Five citizens are desirous of serving a second one year term.

Re-appointed members are:

Bruce Lewis, Multnomah County Margaret Templeton, Multnomah County Forrest Soth, Washington County Beverly Seibel, Washington County Carolyn Tomei, Clackamas County

The sixth citizen member, Cathy Cancilla, Clackamas County resident, resigned from the committee at the time she decided to apply for a grant under the program.

Ms. Karen Griffin, Clackamas County, is appointed to replace Cathy Cancilla. Ms. Griffin resides at 4855 Brookside Road, Lake Oswego, 97034. She is a member and past president of the West Clackamas County Chapter, League of Women Voters and chairs the League's Plastics Recycling Project Committee.

The committee has made its first round of recommendations for awards to the Council and will begin the second round of reviewing applications within the next several weeks.

Council confirmation of re-appointments and of Ms. Karen Griffin is requested.