## BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

FOR THE PURPOSE OF CONFIRMING	)	RESOLUTION NO. 05-3530
APPOINTMENTS TO THE GREENSPACE	ES)	
POLICY ADVISORY COMMITTEE	)	Introduced by David Bragdon
(GPAC)	)	Council President

WHEREAS, the Metro Council adopted Ordinance No. 04-1030 "For the Purpose of Amending Section 2.19.160 of the Metro Code to Establish a Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee, and Declaring an Emergency;" and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 04-1030 created a new Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee (GPAC), consisting of 15 members requiring appointment by the Council President and subject to confirmation by the Metro Council; and

WHEREAS, two (2) vacancies now exist in the committee membership of the GPAC; and

WHEREAS, Council President wishes to extend the terms of six (6) members who have completed one-year terms for a second year, subject to confirmation; and

WHEREAS, Council President has nominated Betty Atteberry and Scott Burgess to the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee (as set forth in Exhibit "A" attached hereto), subject to confirmation; and

WHEREAS, Council President has nominated current member Mike Ragsdale to serve as committee chair (as set forth in Exhibit "A" attached hereto), subject to confirmation; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, the Metro Council hereby confirms the appointments of Betty Atteberry and Scott Burgess as members and Mike Ragsdale as chair of the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee and extends the terms of Don Trotter, Ernie Drapela, Kim Gilmer, Mike Houck, Jill Zanger and Faun Hosey for one year each.

, / \

David Bragdon, Council President

Approved as to Form:

Daniel B. Cooper, Metro Attorney

# Exhibit "A" Resolution No. 05-3530 Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee Appointees

The Metro Council hereby confirms the following two (2) nominees to the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee:

Position K.11: Member-at-large.

**Betty Atteberry** is the retired executive director of the Westside Economic Alliance and is a highly respected community leader, particularly on issues of the local and regional economy.

<u>Position F.6:</u> Representing cities or park districts in the southern part of the region. **Scott Burgess** is a newly-elected West Linn city councilor. Mr. Burgess was previously the city manager of West Linn and thus has both administrative and policy experience. When Mr. Burgess ran for office, his commitment to parks issues formed a central plank in his campaign.

The Metro Council hereby confirms the appointment of a new chair of the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee:

**Mike Ragsdale** is employed by Costa Pacific Development and is the Project Manager for Villebois Urban Village. Mr. Ragsdale was Metro Councilor for District 1 from 1986 to 1990 and served as Presiding Officer from 1988 to 1989.

The Metro Council hereby extends the terms of six (6) current members of the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee for one additional year each: **Don Trotter**, **Ernie Drapela**, **Kim Gilmer**, **Mike Houck**, **Jill Zanger** and **Faun Hosey**.

#### **STAFF REPORT**

IN CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION NO. 05-3530 FOR THE PURPOSE OF CONFIRMING APPOINTMENTS TO THE GREENSPACES POLICY ADVISORY COMMITTEE (GPAC)

December 20, 2004 Prepared by: Jim Desmond

### **BACKGROUND**

The Metro Council continues to commit itself to the vision of the Greenspaces Master Plan of a cooperative, interconnected system of parks, natural areas, trails and greenways for wildlife and people. On January 15, 2004, in order to better serve the public and to work more effectively and efficiently with our partners, the Metro Council adopted Ordinance No. 04-1030 ("For the Purpose of Amending Section 2.19 of the Metro Code to Establish a Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee, and Declaring an Emergency"). Such ordinance calls for the appointment of a 15-member policy advisory committee to provide consultation and advice to the Metro Council on various issues of a regional nature related to parks, greenspaces, trails and natural areas.

There are two (2) vacancies on the Greenspaces Policy Advisory Committee:

- 1) Thanh Q. Vu has resigned from Position K.11, a Member-At-Large position having a two-year term
  - Betty Atteberry has been nominated to replace Mr. Vu, subject to confirmation. Ms. Atteberry is the retired executive director of the Westside Economic Alliance and is a highly respected community leader, particularly on issues of the local and regional economy.
- 2) Doug Neeley has vacated Position F.6, a one-year term which represents cities or park districts in the southern part of the region.

Scott Burgess has been nominated to replace Mr. Neeley, subject to confirmation. Mr. Burgess is a newly-elected West Linn city councilor. Previously, he was the city manager of West Linn and thus has both administrative and policy experience. When Mr. Burgess ran for office, his commitment to parks issues formed a central plank in his campaign.

Mike Ragsdale, a current member, has been nominated to replace Jim Zehren as committee chair, subject to confirmation. Jim Zehren will continue to serve as a member of the committee.

Council President wishes to extend the terms of six (6) members serving one-year terms: Don Trotter, Ernie Drapela, Kim Gilmer, Mike Houck, Jill Zanger and Faun Hosey.

Appointments are made by Council President and submitted to Metro Council for confirma	tion

///

## **ANALYSIS/INFORMATION**

1. Known Opposition: None

**2. Legal Antecedents:** GPAC was created by Ordinance No. 04-1030. The Metro Code 2.19.030 establishes that committee appointments shall be made by the Council President and confirmed by the entire Council.

3. Anticipated Effects: None

4. Budget Impacts: None

5. Outstanding Questions: None

## **RECOMMENDED ACTION**

Chief Operating Officer Michael J. Jordan recommends adoption of Resolution No. 05-3530.