BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

FOR THE PURPOSE OF EXPRESSING)	RESOLUTION NO. 95-2104
THE COUNCIL'S APPRECIATION TO)	•
THE MEMBERS OF THE FUTURE VISION)	Introduced by Councilor
COMMISSION)	Susan McLain

WHEREAS, The voters of the Metro region adopted the 1992 Metro Charter in November, 1992; and

WHEREAS, The Charter provides for the creation of a Future Vision Commission and adoption of a Future Vision no later than July 1, 1995; and

WHEREAS, The Metro Council established a Future Vision Commission by adopting Resolution 93-1801 on May 27, 1993; and

WHEREAS, The Future Vision Commission met for over eighteen months, reviewed available materials, heard from many authorities, and commissioned four reports on jobs, carrying capacity, settlement patterns, and education; and

WHEREAS, The Future Vision Commission issued its final report on March 4, 1995, which deals with all Charter-required matters as well as providing valuable suggestions for how to achieve the Vision; and

WHEREAS, The Future Vision adopted by the Council in Ordinance No. 95-604 is consistent with the vision and values for the region that the Commission developed; and

WHEREAS, Future Vision Commission members spent many hours over the course of many months developing a vision for the region that was consistent with their collective sense of the vision and values of the people who live here;

WHEREAS, Commission members served as volunteers, receiving no compensation for their efforts other than the satisfaction of working to produce a product for the benefit of the entire community; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED.

That the Metro Council acknowledges the efforts put forth by the members of the Future Vision Commission to fulfill the Council's Charter responsibility to create and adopt a Future Vision for the Metro region, and offers its sincere thanks and gratitude for their work and their dedication.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,

That the Metro Council thanks the members of the Future Vision Commission collectively, as well as individually to each who served on the Commission:

Len Freiser, Chair

Susan McLain, Vice Chair

Judy Davis

Mike Gates

Mike Houck

Wayne Lei

Robert Liberty

Peggy Lynch

John Magnano

Peter McDonald

Linda Peters

Alice Schlenker

Ted Spence

Rod Stevens

Fred Stewart

Robert B. Textor

Marilyn Wall

ADOPTED by the Metro Council this 15th day of June, 1995

Ruth McFarland, Presiding Office