BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

)

)

)

FOR THE PURPOSE OF REORGANIZING THE METRO COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. 96-2259

Introduced by Presiding Officer J. Ruth McFarland

WHEREAS, Pursuant to Section 16 of the 1992 Metro Charter and Chapter 2.01 of the Metro Code, the Council has elected Councilor Kvistad to serve as its presiding officer during 1996; and

WHEREAS, The presiding officer has appointed Councilor McLain to serve as deputy presiding officer; and

WHEREAS, The presiding officer has appointed councilors to serve as members of the standing committees of the Council and has appointed councilors to serve as members of other Council-related committees or positions; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED,

1. That the existing standing committees created by the Council pursuant to previously adopted resolutions are continued with the same purpose and authority.

2. That the Council confirms and acknowledges the presiding officer's authority to appoint standing committee members. The list of committee members is as described in Exhibit "A" attached hereto.

3. That the Council acknowledges the presiding officer's appointment of members to other Council-related committees or positions as described in Exhibit "B" attached hereto.

Page 1 -- Resolution No. 96-2259

4. That the regular meeting schedule for the Council and each standing committee shall be as described in Exhibit "C" attached hereto, except for special meetings and changes necessary to respond to holiday scheduling or other needs as determined by the presiding officer.

ADOPTED by the Metro Council this , 1996. day of

Jon Kvistad, Presiding Officer

Approved as to Form:

Daniel B. Cooper, General Counsel

kaj 1255

Page 2 -- Resolution No. 96-2259

EXHIBIT "A"

COUNCIL STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP*

<u>Finance Committee</u>: Councilor Monroe, Chair; Councilor McFarland, Vice Chair; Councilor Kvistad; Councilor McCaig; Councilor McLain; Councilor Morissette; Councilor Washington

<u>Urban Growth Management Committee</u>: Councilor McLain, Chair; Councilor Morissette, Vice Chair; Councilor Kvistad

<u>Regional Facilities Committee</u>: Councilor Washington, Chair; Councilor McFarland, Vice Chair; Councilor Monroe

<u>Regional Environmental Management Committee</u>: Councilor McFarland, Chair; Councilor McCaig, Vice Chair; Councilor McLain

<u>Transportation Planning Committee</u>: Councilor Morissette, Chair; Councilor Monroe, Vice Chair; Councilor McLain

<u>Governmental Affairs Committee</u>: Councilor McCaig, Chair; Councilor Washington, Vice Chair, Councilor McFarland

The presiding officer may serve as a member of a committee for which there is a vacancy as a result of a vacancy on the Council.

kaj 1255

Page 1 of 1 -- Exhibit "A" Resolution No. 96-2259

EXHIBIT "B"

COUNCILOR ANCILLARY APPOINTMENTS

Council Parliamentarian: Councilor McFarland

Friends of the Washington Park Zoo Board of Directors: Councilor Kvistad, Councilor Morissette

<u>Joint Policy Advisory Committee on Transportation</u>: Councilor Monroe, Chair; Councilor Morissette; Councilor McLain; Councilor Kvistad (Alternate)

<u>Metro Policy Advisory Committee</u>: Councilor McLain, Councilor Kvistad, Councilor McFarland, Councilor McCaig (Alternate)

<u>Greenspaces Citizens Advisory Committee</u>: Councilor McCaig, Councilor Washington (Alternate)

Greenspaces Liaison: Councilor McCaig

Metro CCI Liaison: Councilor McLain

<u>Oregon Regional Council Association Board of Directors</u>: Councilor Kvistad, Councilor McFarland (Alternate)

<u>Regional Emergency Management Policy Advisory Committee</u>: Councilor Monroe, Councilor Morissette

Regional Water Services Leadership Group: Councilor Kvistad, Councilor McLain

Smith and Bybee Lakes Management Committee: Councilor Washington, Councilor McCaig

<u>Regional Environmental Management Policy Advisory Committee</u>: Councilor McFarland, Chair; Councilor McLain

<u>Regional Environmental Management Rate Review Committee</u>: Councilor McFarland, Chair; Councilor McLain

<u>SW Washington Regional Transportation Policy Committee</u>: Councilor Monroe, Councilor Morissette

South/North Steering Committee: Councilor Monroe, Chair; Councilor Morissette (Alternate)

Page 1 of 2 -- Exhibit "B" Resolution No. 96-2259

<u>Tri-Met Committee on Accessible Transportation</u>: Councilor Washington, Councilor Morissette

<u>Water Resources Policy Advisory Committee</u>: Councilor McLain, Councilor Kvistad, Councilor McCaig

Westside Corridor Project Steering Group: Councilor Kvistad

Washington County Transportation Advisory Group: Councilor Kvistad

Neighboring Cities Grant: Councilor McLain

Cascadia Task Force: Councilor Kvistad, Councilor Monroe

<u>1% for Art</u>: Councilor Washington

Portland/Multnomah County Progress Board: Councilor McFarland

DEO Parking Ratio Employee Policy Advisory Committee: Councilor McLain

Portland State Institute of Urban Studies: Councilor Kvistad, Councilor McFarland

Columbia Slough Watershed Council: Councilor Washington

FOCUS_Liaison: Councilor McLain

kaj 1255

Page 2 of 2 -- Exhibit "B" Resolution No. 96-2259

EXHIBIT "C"

COUNCIL AND COMMITTEE MEETINGS

<u>Council</u>

The Metro Council meetings shall be regularly scheduled as outlined below except when the Presiding Officer finds a need to: (1) convene special or emergency meetings; (2) change meeting dates or times to respond to special scheduling needs; or (3) cancel a meeting due to a lack of quorum or agenda items or other precipitating events.

Regular Sessions: The Metro Council shall meet in Regular Session on each Thursday beginning at 2:00 p.m., except that on the fourth Thursday of each month the regular session may begin at 7:00 p.m. if the Presiding Officer determines the meeting agenda is of significant public interest.

Committees

The Metro Council standing committee meetings shall be regularly scheduled as outlined below except when the Committee Chair finds a need to: (1) convene special meetings; (2) change meeting dates or times to respond to special scheduling needs; or (3) cancel a meeting due to a lack of quorum or agenda items or other precipitating events.

Council committees shall have regularly scheduled meetings at least twice a month. All committee meetings shall be scheduled during the same calendar week. Generally committee meetings will be scheduled at 1:30 p.m. and 3:30 p.m., with the Governmental Affairs Committee and Regional Facilities Committee meeting on Mondays, the Transportation Planning and Urban Growth Management Committees meeting on Tuesdays and the Regional Environmental Management and Finance Committees meeting on Wednesdays. The Presiding Officer shall cause a committee meeting schedule to be published in advance and may adjust meeting times and dates to reflect committee scheduling conflicts as well as other needs.

kaj 1255

Page 1 of 1 -- Exhibit "C" Resolution No. 96-2259