BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

FOR THE PURPOSE OF ORGANIZING THE)	RESOLUTION NO. 17-4763
METRO COUNCIL AND CONFIRMING)	
COMMITTEE MEMBERS)	Introduced by Council President Tom Hughes

WHEREAS, the Metro Charter, Chapter IV, Section 16 (5) directs the Council to adopt an annual organizing resolution for the orderly conduct of Council business; and

WHEREAS, Chapter 2.01 of the Metro Code directs the Metro Council at its first meeting after the first Monday in January each year to elect a Deputy Council President for the ensuing year; directs the Metro Council to establish such committees as the Council deems necessary for the orderly conduct of Council business; and provides that the Council President shall appoint certain committee members and committee chairs subject to confirmation by the Council by Resolution; and

WHEREAS, the Council President has nominated Councilor Kathryn Harrington to serve as the Deputy Council President for 2017; and

WHEREAS, the Council President has appointed Councilor Craig Dirksen as Chair of the Joint Policy Advisory Committee on Transportation (JPACT), Councilors Shirley Craddick and Bob Stacey as members of JPACT, and Councilor Sam Chase as an alternate member of JPACT; and

WHEREAS, the Council President has appointed Councilors Sam Chase, Carlotta Collette, and Kathryn Harrington as members the Metropolitan Policy Advisory Committee (MPAC); now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Metro Council elects Councilor Kathryn Harrington as Deputy Council President for 2017.
- 2. That the Metro Council confirms the Council President's appointments of Councilors to JPACT and MPAC.

ADOPTED by the Metro Council this 5th day of January 2017.

Tom Hughes, Council President

XM

proved as to Form:

Page 1 Resolution No. 17-4763

Alison R. Kean, Metro Attorney