MINUTES OF THE COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN SERVICE DISTRICT

Informal Work Session December 19, 1985

Councilors Present: Councilors Cooper, DeJardin, Gardner, Hansen,

Kirkpatrick, Kafoury, Kelley, Oleson, Van Bergen

and Waker

Councilors Absent: Councilors Myers and Bonner

Also Present: Rick Gustafson, Executive Officer

Staff Present: Eleanore Baxendale, Dennis Mulvihill, Dan Durig,

Doug Drennen, Patrick Minor, Norm Wietting, Chuck Geyer, Wayne Rifer, Jan Schaeffer, Ray

Barker

Deputy Presiding Officer Waker called the special meeting to order at 5:10 p.m. and announced the purpose of the work session was to consider final suggestions for changes to the Solid Waste Reduction Program, Work Plan, and Framework Plan.

Councilor Kelley circulated proposed amendments to p. 14 of the Framework Plan relating to the certification program. Any reference to "certification for local government programs" would be changed to read "collection services," she explained. She said the proposed language would make the Framework Plan consistent with the Resolution.

Councilor Gardner suggested the second sentence of policy 7 of Resolution No. 85-611 be changed to read: "Based upon the responses to the RFQ, and before issuing a request for proposals by July 31, 1986, Metro will, [by July 31, 1986]...." After discussion about the intent of the original language, it was determined not to amend the language. Staff assured the Council that the bidding process for alternative technology would be carried out as quickly as possible.

Motion: Councilor DeJardin moved to endorse the Framework

Plan as amended. Councilor Van Bergen seconded the

motion.

Vote: A vote on the motion resulted in:

Ayes: Councilors Cooper, DeJardin, Gardner, Hansen,

Kirkpatrick, Kafoury, Kelley, Oleson, Van Bergen and

Waker

Informal Work Session Metro Council December 19, 1985 Page 2

Absent: Councilors Myers and Bonner

The motion carried.

Motion: Councilor DeJardin moved to endorse the Framework

Plan as amended. Councilor Van Bergen seconded the

motion.

Vote: A vote on the motion resulted in:

Ayes: Councilors Cooper, DeJardin, Gardner, Hansen,

Kirkpatrick, Kafoury, Kelley, Oleson, Van Bergen and

Waker

Absent: Councilors Myers and Bonner

The motion carried.

Deputy Presiding Officer Waker adjourned the special session at 5:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

A. Marie Nelson

Clerk of the Council

amn

4990C/313-2

01/15/86