## MINUTES OF THE PLASTICS RECYCLING TASK FORCE OF THE METROPOLITAN SERVICE DISTRICT

## March 5, 1990

## Council Chamber

Task Force Members Present: Chair Corky Kirkpatrick, Patrick Moffatt, Carrie Heaton, Sara Vickerman, Jeff Gage, Charlotte Becker and Jerry Herrmann

Others Present: Rich Holoch, Allen Hurst, Steve Kraten and Ray Barker

Chair Kirkpatrick called the meeting to order at 4:16 p.m.

Chair Kirkpatrick noted she sent Presiding Officer Tanya Collier a memorandum on the status of the Plastics Recycling Task Force and was waiting for a response.

- 1. Review of Various Plastics Legislation
- Review Issues Under Consideration by the Joint Interim Legislative Committee on Environment, Energy and Hazardous Materials

The Task Force discussed Senate Bills 344, 345, 350, 352, 353, 424, 990 and 1083 and House Bills 3444 and 3482. The Task Force reached consensus on Senate Bills 344 and 345 and agreed to work on that legislation further. Chair Kirkpatrick said coding language should be added to SB 345 for household recycling.

Chair Kirkpatrick asked <u>Ray Barker</u>, Council Analyst, to research other state's legislation requiring labels. Chair Kirkpatrick said the Task Force would work on Senate Bills 344 and 345 to add language related to polystyrene recycling and add coding language for plastics designated principal recyclables.

The Task Force discussed new legislation on flotation docks. Chair Kirkpatrick requested <u>Sara Vickerman</u>, <u>Jerry Herrmann</u>, and Mr. Barker to assemble information related to the proposed new legislation for an informational presentation at the next Task Force meeting. Chair Kirkpatrick said the Task Force could use that information to develop new legislation on flotation dock materials. Chair Kirkpatrick said the Task Force would work on funding issues related to Senate Bill 3482.

Chair Kirkpatrick said the next meeting would be held Monday, March 26 and the Task Force would consider flotation dock material issues and hear a presentation on the McDonald's polystyrene recycling program.

Chair Kirkpatrick adjourned the meeting at 5:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Faule Te Alle Paulette Allen Committee Clerk

PRTF90.064