### BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

FOR THE PURPOSE OF RE-APPOINTING	)	RESOLUTION NO. 23-5329
CERTAIN MEMBERS TO THE	)	
SUPPORTIVE HOUSING SERVICES TRI-	)	Introduced by Chief Operating Officer
COUNTY PLANNING BODY (TCPB)	)	Marissa Madrigal in concurrence with
	)	Council President Lynn Peterson

WHEREAS, on February 25, 2020, the Metro Council referred to the Metro area voters a personal and business income tax for the purposes of funding Supportive Housing Services in the Metro region (the "Supportive Housing Services Measure"); and

WHEREAS, on May 19, 2020, the Metro Area voters approved the Supportive Housing Services Measure; and

WHEREAS, in December 2020, Ordinance No. 20-1452 added a new Title XI, Chapter 11.01 to the Metro Code, which established the Supportive Housing Services Program; and

WHEREAS, Metro Code Section 11.01.170 establishes a Tri-County Planning Body (TCPB) to strengthen regional coordination to implement the Supportive Housing Services Program; and

WHEREAS, responsibilities of the TCPB include, but are not limited to, developing a regional plan that includes regional strategies to address homelessness, approving and monitoring regional investments from the Regional Investment Fund and providing guidance on operationalizing SHS values on a regional scale; and

WHEREAS, on May 5, 2022, the Metro Council adopted Resolution No. 22-5267, which adopted the TCPB Charter, and

WHEREAS, the TCPB Charter sets out requirements for membership and requires Metro to lead a recruitment process to identify members, in collaboration with the TCPB Jurisdictional Leadership Team (also established by the Charter); and;

WHEREAS, the TCPB Charter established that the TCPB would be composed of 17 voting members, four of whom are elected representatives (with one each from the Clackamas, Multnomah and Washington County Board of Commissioners and the Metro Council); and

WHEREAS, on May 5, 2022, the Metro Council adopted Resolution No. 22-5264, which appointed the first 13 non-elected representative members to the Tri-County Planning Body and four elected representatives; and

WHEREAS, the County Boards of Commissioners for Multnomah, Washington, and Clackamas County are each responsible for selecting their respective representatives to the

TCPB, and these recommended members are also included in the slate for Metro Council appointment; and

WHEREAS, to ensure institutional knowledge, the terms of the 17 members were staggered, with eight serving for an initial one-year term and nine serving for an initial two-year term; and

WHEREAS, the one-year term of eight of the initial 17 members of the Tri-County Planning Body expires on May 5, 2023; and

WHEREAS, the TCPB charter states that "committee members appointed to serve an initial one-year term may be reappointed to serve up to two additional two-year terms"; and

WHEREAS, all members with a term expiring after the initial one-year term desire to remain on the committee for an additional two-year term, now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED that the Metro Council reappoints the members listed in Exhibit A attached to this Resolution for a term beginning on May 6, 2023, and ending on May 5, 2025, with eligibility to serve one additional two-year term starting in 2025.

ADOPTED by the Metro Council this 27th day of April 2023.

Lynn Peterson, Council President

Approved as to Form:

Carrie Maclaren

Carrie MacLaren, Metro Attorney

## Exhibit A to Resolution No. 23-5329

# **Supportive Housing Services Tri-County Planning Body Committee Member Appointments and Terms**

The Tri-County Planning Body is composed of 17 voting members. Of the 17 members, four are elected representatives from each county partner jurisdiction and the Metro Council in addition to the 13 other members.

The following eight persons have each served an initial term of one year ending May 5, 2023. They are each eligible for two additional two-year terms. Below is a list of members up for reappointment:

- Mercedes Elizalde
- Cristina Palacios
- Monta Knudson
- Nicole Larson
- Chair Tootie Smith, elected representative from Clackamas County
- Commissioner Susheela Jayapal, elected representative from Multnomah County
- Chair Kathryn Harrington, elected representative from Washington County
- Councilor Christine Lewis, elected representative from Metro

IN CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION NO. 23-5329 FOR THE PURPOSE OF REAPPOINTING MEMBERS TO THE SUPPORTIVE HOUSING SERVICES TRI-COUNTY PLANNING BODY (TCPB)

Date: April 10, 2023 Presenter(s): Liam Frost

**Department: Housing** 

Meeting Date: April 27, 2023

# **ISSUE STATEMENT**

In May 2020, voters in greater Portland approved the Supportive Housing Services ballot measure (26-210) to fund supportive housing services for people experiencing homelessness or at risk of experiencing homelessness. Community members and leaders from around the region developed the measure, recognizing that individuals and families need support to find and stay in their homes.

As part of the ballot measure's intent to increase regional coordination to address homelessness, the measure requires the creation of a "Tri County Planning Body" (TCPB). The TCPB is charged with developing a regional plan, providing direction on policy, and directing five percent of ballot measure revenue towards regional coordination.

The TCPB charter development, member recruitment, and member selection process was conducted by Metro, Clackamas, Multnomah and Washington county staff in a collaborative effort. The charter requires the TCPB to be comprised of seventeen members, including an elected official from Metro and each of the three counties.

## STRATEGIC CONTEXT & FRAMING COUNCIL DISCUSSION

When the original slate of candidates was first developed for the TCPB, eight of the original seventeen members were appointed initially for a one-year term, while the remaining nine members were appointed for an initial two-year term. This staggering was done purposely as a best practice to ensure continuity in the event of mass turn-over as terms end. As stated in the TCPB charter, committee members appointed to serve an initial one-year term may be reappointed to serve up to two additional two-year terms. All members with a term expiring after the initial one-year term desire to remain on the TCPB for an additional two-year term. The three counties and Metro staff agree that these members would continue to provide valuable insight to the work of the TCPB.

#### **BACKGROUND**

Metro staff recommends that Metro Council approve the re-appointment to the TCPB of:

- Mercedes Elizalde
- Cristina Palacios
- Monta Knudson

- Nicole Larson
- Chair Tootie Smith, elected representative from Clackamas County
- Commissioner Susheela Jayapal, elected representative from Multnomah County
- Chair Kathryn Harrington, elected representative from Washington County
- Councilor Christine Lewis, elected representative from Metro