BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

FOR THE PURPOSE OF REAPPOINTING TWO MEMBERS TO THE METRO SUPPORTIVE HOUSING)	RESOLUTION NO. 24-5446
SERVICES COMMUNITY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE)))	Introduced by Chief Operating Officer Marissa Madrigal with the Concurrence of Metro Council President Lynn Peterson

WHEREAS, Metro's Supportive Housing Services Program has a Regional Oversight Committee to oversee the program, with the following responsibilities: reviewing local implementations plans, accepting and reviewing annual reports from the local implementation partners, monitoring financial aspects of program administration, and providing annual reports to the Metro Council; and

WHEREAS, the Regional Oversight Committee's membership is governed by Metro Code Section 2.19.280; and

WHEREAS, the Regional Oversight Committee is composed of 15 members (five each from the three counties in the region) along with one representative each from the Clackamas, Multnomah and Washington County Boards of Commissioners, Portland City Council and Metro Council; and

WHEREAS, Metro Code Section 2.19.280 authorizes the Metro Council President to reappoint members to the Regional Oversight Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Metro Council President has reappointed two members to the Regional Oversight Committee with terms to begin on January 1, 2025, and to end on December 31, 2026; and

WHEREAS, these reappointed committee members satisfy the membership attributes set forth in Metro Code Section 2.19.280: and

WHEREAS, the Metro Council desires to confirm those reappointments; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED:

1. That the Metro Council confirms the reappointments of certain members to the Supportive Housing Services Regional Oversight Committee to a two-year term as set forth on Exhibit A attached to this Resolution. The term will begin on January 1, 2025, and end on December 31, 2026.

ADOPTED by the Metro Council this 19 day of	December 2024.	
Approved as to Form:		
Carrie MacLaren Metro Attorney	Lynn Peterson, Council President	

IN CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION NO. 24-5446 FOR THE PURPOSE OF REAPPOINTING TWO MEMBERS TO THE METRO SUPPORTIVE HOUSING SERVICES COMMUNITY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

Date: December 02, 2024 Prepared by: Yvette Perez-Chavez

Department: Housing

Meeting date: December 19, 2024

ISSUE STATEMENT

Resolution No. 24-5446 reappoints two members to serve two-year terms on the Supportive Housing Services Regional Oversight Committee.

Metro staff have confirmed interest and availability of the following Oversight Committee members to be reappointed to serve an additional term of two years:

1. Jeremiah Rigsby

2. Mike Savara

Current and past committee members

Below is a summary of current members and their terms. Current members who are to be reappointed through this resolution are in bold.

Committee members	County they represent	Appointment
Cara Hash	Clackamas	Appointed to a two-year term in January 2024
		with the current term ending January 2026. Is
		eligible to serve an additional two-year term.
Dan Fowler	Clackamas	Appointed to a one-year term in 2020;
		reappointed in 2021 for an additional
		two-year term; reappointed for a final
		two-year term through December 2025.
Peter	Clackamas	Appointed to a two-year term in January 2024
Rosenblatt		with the current term ending January 2026. Is
		eligible to serve an additional two-year term.
Mandrill	Clackamas	Appointed to a one-year term in 2020;
Taylor		reappointed in 2021 for an additional
(co-chair)		two-year term; reappointed for a final
		two-year term through December 2025.
Jenny Lee	Multnomah	Appointed to a one-year term in 2020;
		reappointed in 2021 for an additional
		two-year term; reappointed for a final
		two-year term through December 2025.

Kai Liang	Multnomah	Appointed to a two-year term September 2024 with the current term ending September 2026. Is eligible to serve an additional two-year term.
Carter MacNichol	Multnomah	Appointed to a one-year term in 2020; reappointed in 2021 for an additional two-year term; reappointed for a final two-year term through December 2025.
Jeremiah Rigsby	Multnomah	Appointed to a two-year term in 2020; reappointed in 2022 for an additional two-year term; eligible for a final two-year term to start in January 2025.
James Bane	Washington	Appointed to a two-year term in January 2024 with the current term ending January 2026. Is eligible to serve an additional two-year term.
Mitch Chilcott	Washington	Appointed to a two-year term in January 2024 with the current term ending January 2026. Is eligible to serve an additional two-year term.
Felicita Monteblanco	Washington	Appointed to a one-year term in 2020; reappointed in 2021 for an additional two-year term; reappointed for a final two-year term through December 2025.
Mike Savara	Washington	Appointed to a two-year term in January 2023 with the current term ending December 31, 2024. Is eligible to serve an additional two-year term.
Margarita Solis-Ruiz	Washington	Appointed to a two-year term in January 2024 with the current term ending January 2026. Is eligible to serve an additional two-year term.

In the past year, two members resigned from the committee (Susan Emmons and Becky Wilkinson).

The committee therefore has two vacancies: one (1) vacancy in Multnomah County and one (1) in Clackamas County.

ACTION REQUESTED

Adopt Resolution No. 24-5446, reappointing two members to the Supportive Housing Services Oversight Committee for a two-year term. Through adoption of this resolution, the new term for these two members will be January 1, 2025, through December 31, 2026.

IDENTIFIED POLICY OUTCOMES

The Regional Oversight Committee performs the following duties as charged by the Metro Council:

- Evaluate local implementation plans, recommend changes as necessary to achieve program goals and guiding principles, and make recommendations to Metro Council for approval;
- Accept and review annual reports for consistency with approved local implementation plans;
- Monitor financial aspects of program administration, including review of program expenditures; and
- Provide annual reports and presentations to Metro Council and Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington County Boards of Commissioners assessing performance, challenges, and outcomes.

STRATEGIC CONTEXT & FRAMING COUNCIL DISCUSSION

The proposed Resolution is based on numerous policies previously adopted by the Metro Council, including but not limited to:

- Ordinance No. 20-1453 amending Metro Code Chapter 2.19 to establish the Supportive Housing Services Regional Oversight Committee
- Resolution No. 20-5136 appointing members to the Supportive Housing Services Oversight Committee by the Council President

Exhibit A to the Resolution No. 24-5446

Supportive Housing Services Regional Oversight Committee Committee Member Reappointments

The Supportive Housing Services Regional Oversight Committee is composed of 15 members (five each from the three counties in the region) along with one representative each from the Clackamas, Multnomah and Washington County Boards of Commissioners, Portland City Council and Metro Council. The following members represent Multnomah and Washington counties, and will serve a second term, beginning January 1, 2025, and ending December 31, 2026.

- 1. Jeremiah Rigsby, Multnomah County
- 2. Mike Savara, Washington County