BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

FOR THE PURPOSE OF ORGANIZING THE)	RESOLUTION NO. 25-5452
METRO COUNCIL AND CONFIRMING)	
COMMITTEE MEMBERS)	Introduced by Council President Lynn
)	Peterson

WHEREAS, the Metro Charter, Chapter IV Section 16(5) directs the Metro Council to adopt an annual organizing resolution for the orderly conduct of Council business; and

WHEREAS, Chapter 2.01 directs the Metro Council at its first meeting after the first Monday in January to elect a Deputy Council President for the ensuing year; directs the Metro Council to establish such committees as the Council deems necessary for the orderly conduct of Council business; and provides that the Council President shall appoint certain committee members and committee chairs subject to confirmation by the Council by resolution; and

WHEREAS, the Council President has nominated Councilor Ashton Simpson to serve as the Deputy Council President for 2025; and

WHEREAS, the Council President has appointed Councilor Juan Carlos González as Chair of the Joint Policy Advisory Committee on Transportation (JPACT), Councilor Christine Lewis as Vice Chair, and Councilor Aston Simpson as a member of JPACT, and Councilor Duncan Hwang as an alternate member of JPACT; and

WHEREAS, the Council President has appointed Councilors Duncan Hwang, Mary Nolan, and Gerritt Rosenthal as members of the Metropolitan Policy Advisory Committee (MPAC); and

WHEREAS, the Council President has appointed Councilors to chair and serve as members or alternates on those committees, commissions and boards as set forth in the attached Exhibit A for 2025, and the remaining Councilors wish to confirm those appointments; and

WHEREAS, the Council President has also designated Councilors to serve as liaisons or representatives of the Council for various functions, organizations, and issues determined to be related to carrying on the orderly business of the Council as also set forth in attached Exhibit A; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Metro Council confirms the Council President's appointment of Ashton Simpson as Deputy Council President for 2025.
- 2. That the Metro Council confirms the Council President's appointments of Councilors to JPACT and MPAC.
- 3. That the Metro Council approves the designation of Councilors to serve as liaisons or representatives of the Council as also set forth in Exhibit A.

ADOPTED by the Metro Council this 9th day of January 2025.

Jan &

Lynn Peterson, Council President

Approved as to Form:

Carrie Maclaren

Carrie MacLaren, Metro Attorney

2025 Metro Council Liaison Assignments

Revised December 30th 2024

SECTION I: ASSIGNMENTS and/or APPOINTMENTS REQUIRED BY LAW, CODE OR STATUTE

Obligatory liaison assignments are required by the Metro Charter, Metro Code or other statute. These positions are appointed by the Council President and confirmed by the Metro Council.

COMMISSION or ADVISORY COMMITTEE	SOURCE OF REQUIREMENT	COUNCILOR(S) ASSIGNED
Deputy Metro Council President	Metro Charter	Simpson
Future Vision Commission		Gonzalez (Chair) Peterson
Joint Policy Advisory Committee on Transportation (JPACT)	Federally mandated/MPO role; JPACT Bylaws	Gonzalez (Chair) Lewis (Vice Chair) Simpson
JPACT Alternate	Federally mandated/MPO role; JPACT Bylaws	Hwang
Metro Policy Advisory Committee (MPAC)	Metro Charter	Hwang Nolan Rosenthal
Regional Waste Advisory Committee		Nolan (Chair) Lewis (Vice Chair)

SECTION II: OTHER REQUIRED APPOINTMENTS

Other liaison assignments are required by Metro legislation or intergovernmental agreements. These positions are appointed by the Council President. Confirmation by the Council is not required.

OTHER COMMITTEE	SOURCE OF REQUIREMENT	COUNCILOR(S) ASSIGNED
Committee on Racial Equity (CORE)	Bylaws; 2 Metro Councilors serve as non-voting members	Peterson Hwang
Forest Grove Community Enhancement Grant Committee	IGA / District 4 duty	Gonzalez
Gresham Community Enhancement Grant Committee	IGA / District 1 duty	Simpson
Metro Audit Committee	Metro Code/Metro ordinance	Rosenthal

Metro Central Enhancement Committee	Metro Code / District 5 duty	Nolan
Metropolitan Exposition- Recreation Commission (MERC) Council Liaison	Metro Code	Rosenthal Simpson (Alternate)
Natural Areas Capital Program Oversight Committee	Metro Code	Simpson Nolan Rosenthal
Oregon City Metro Enhancement Committee	IGA / District 2 duty	Lewis
Oregon Zoo Foundation (OZF) Board <i>Ex Officio</i> Members	Agreement with OZF	Lewis Rosenthal Simpson
Supportive Housing Services Regional Oversight Committee	Metro Code	Lewis
Sherwood Community Enhancement Grant Committee	IGA District 3 duty	Rosenthal
Southwest Washington Regional Transportation Council (SWRTC)	IGA	Gonzalez Simpson (Alternate)
Suttle Road Community Enhancement Grant Committee	IGA District 5 duty	Nolan
Supportive Housing Services Tri County Planning Body	IGA	Lewis
Transit Oriented Development (TOD) Steering Committee	Metro resolution	Hwang Rosenthal (Alternate)
Travel Portland Board	Agreement with Travel Portland	Simpson
Troutdale Community Enhancement Grant Committee	IGA District 1 duty	Simpson
Urban Flood Safety and Water Quality District	IGA	Rosenthal
Visitor Development Fund (VDF) Board	IGA President and one other councilor	Peterson Simpson

Willamette Cove Liaison	Metro resolution	Nolan	
Wilsonville Community Enhancement Grant Committee	IGA District 3 duty	Rosenthal	

SECTION III: EXTERNAL OR OPTIONAL ASSIGNMENTS

External assignments relate to committees or organizations that request participation from the Metro Council. The Council President appoints external and optional liaisons, unless otherwise noted. Confirmation by the Council is not required.

ASSIGNMENTS	COUNCILOR(S) ASSIGNED
82 nd Avenue Transit Corridor Committee	Hwang Lewis
Affordable Housing Bond Oversight Committee Liaison	Nolan
Clackamas County Coordinating Committee (C4)	Lewis Simpson (Alternate)
Community Place Making Advisory Committee	Hwang Lewis
Construction Career Pathways Project (C2P2) (Executive Sponsors)	Hwang Simpson
Earthquake Ready Burnside Bridge Policy Group (Multnomah County)	Nolan
Expo Futures Committee	Peterson Lewis Rosenthal (Alternate)
Greater Portland Inc. (GPI)	Simpson Peterson (Alternate)
Interstate Bridge Replacement Executive Steering Group	Peterson Nolan (Alternate)
Land Conservation and Development Commission (LCDC) Local Officials Advisory Committee (LOAC)	Rosenthal
Legislative Liaison	Lewis Nolan

	Peterson
ODOT Region 1 Area Commission on Transportation (ACT)	Gonzalez
Oregon Transportation Planning (OTP) Committee [external appointment]	Gonzalez
Oregon Metropolitan Planning Organization Consortium (OMPOC)	Gonzalez Lewis (Alternate)
Regional Economic Associations	
1. Columbia Corridor Assoc.	1. Nolan
2. Westside Economic Alliance	2. Gonzalez
3. Clackamas County Business Alliance	3. Lewis
Regional Disaster Preparedness Organization (RDPO)	Rosenthal
Regional Solutions Advisory Committee	Simpson
Regional Waste Advisory Committee	Nolan (Chair) Lewis (Vice Chair)
TV Highway Steering Committee	Gonzalez Rosenthal (Alternate)
TriMet – State Transportation Improvement Fund (STIF) Committee	Hwang
Waste Prevention and Environmental Services (WPES) Innovation & Investment Grant Selection Committee	Rosenthal
Westside Multimodal Improvements Study	Gonzalez Peterson (Alternate)
Willamette Falls Locks Authority [external appointment]	Lewis
Workforce Development Board	Simpson Peterson (Alternate)
Ultra High-Speed Corridor Advisory Group [external appointment]	Simpson